Skip survey header

2014 International Blindness Prevention Award Nominations

Page One


To submit a nomination for the 2014 Award, please click "Next" at the bottom of the page and complete the necessary information on the following pages for yourself and your nominee. Once your nomination is complete, click "Submit".  Submit your nomination by 3 March 2014.


The International Blindness Prevention Award, established in 1992, honors individuals who have made significant contributions to the prevention of blindness or restoration of sight. It is presented to an individual each year at the AAO Annual Meeting.

Awardees should …
• Have a continued involvement in international blindness prevention.
• Have an impact on a significant number of people.
• Demonstrate a personal commitment to the prevention of blindness.
• Inspire others to save sight.
• Have made an impact globally on systems to reduce blindness.


1992 – G. Venkataswamy, MD (India)
1993 – Norval E. Christy, MD (USA)
1994 – Barrie Jones, MD (UK)
1995 – Moses Chirambo, MD (Malawi)
1996 – Bjorn Thylefors, MD (Switzerland)
1997 – Kazuichi Konyama, MD (Japan)
1998 – Alfred Sommer, MD (USA)
1999 – Francisco Contreras, MD (Peru)
2000 – Ramachandra Pararajasegaram, MD (Switzerland)
2001 – Hugh Taylor, MD (Australia)
2002 – Akef El Maghraby, MD (Saudi Arabia)
2003 – Frank Billson, MD (Australia)
2004 – Hannah B. Faal, MD (The Gambia)
2005 – Allen Foster, FRCS, FRCOphth (UK)
2006 – Gullapalli N. Rao, MD (India)
2007 – Bruce E. Spivey, MD (USA) and Gottfried O.H. Naumann, MD (Germany)
2008 – Susan Lewallen, MD and Paul Courtright, DrPH (Tanzania)
2009 – Louis D. Pizzarello, MD (USA)
2010 – Ahmed Trabelsi, MD (Tunisia)
2011 – Clare E. Gilbert, MD, MSc (UK) 
2012 – Marilyn T. Miller, MD (USA) 
2013 - Mohammad Khan, MD (Pakistan)